Return to Headlines

NEA Foundation Selects Kyrene Educator to Receive National Award

Each year the National Education Association (NEA) Foundation selects public school educators from across the country to receive the prestigious California Casualty Awards for Teaching Excellence. This award is granted to educators for their dedication to the profession, community, professional development and attention to diversity and advocacy. 


Of the 46 state awardees to receive this recognition is Kyrene del Norte and Kyrene de la Estrella music teacher Scott Harnisch. Scott was nominated by the Arizona Education Association (AEA) before being selected by the NEA. Scott exemplifies the qualities of this recognition through his interactions with students and colleagues and his passion for education. 


The Salute to Excellence in Education Gala will be held in February to honor nominees and announce five finalists for the Horace Mann for Teaching Excellence award and one finalist for the NEA Member Benefits Award. This event will be livestreamed online at