Return to Headlines

Two schools receive civic award from ADE

Posted March 2018

Kyrene Traditional Academy and Kyrene de los Lagos Elementary have recognized as Arizona Excellence in Civic Engagement Merit School recipients by the Arizona Department of Education at the 5th Annual Civic Learning Conference.

ADE Excellence in Civic Engagement School Recognition
5th Annual Civic Learning Conference
Desert Willow Conference Center
Friday, March 2, 2018
8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.


Both schools and their principals, Dr. Marianne Lescher and Dr. Ana Gomez del Castillo, have been acknowledged for their demonstrated implementation of the six proven practices of civic learning: (1) classroom instruction in civics, government, history, geography, economics, law and democracy; (2) service learning linked to classroom learning; (3) student participation in simulations of democratic processes; (4) guided classroom discussion of current events; (5) student participation in school governance; and (6) extracurricular activities.


The Arizona Department of Education has awarded a certificate and a banner to each campus. A student from each school gave a short presentation on what “civic engagement” means at their schools.


More information on Kyrene Traditional Academy.

More information on Kyrene de los Lagos.