Return to Headlines

Tempe Diablos honors staff

May 2018

Once again, the Tempe Diablos are recognizing teachers and staff from the Kyrene School District, Tempe Elementary School District and Tempe Union High School District for inspiration, impact and achievement. Teachers and staff were nominated for the awards by students, families, peers, and principals. An awards presentation will be held at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, May 14, 2018 at Tempe Center for the Arts.

Kyrene School District is thrilled to partner with Tempe Diablos Charities to recognize the extraordinary measures of this profession. Congratulations to Kyrene School District 2018 Finalists:

Class Act
Ignacio Alvarez – Kyrene Aprende Middle School
Mary Kris Hodgkins – Kyrene School District Office

Amanda Berrelleza – Kyrene Middle School
Brenda Mulkey – Kyrene Monte Vista Elementary School

High Impact
Kathryn Childers – Kyrene de los Lagos Elementary School
Karen Ruth Reiss – Kyrene Centennial Middle School

Christine Hartland – Kyrene Monte Vista Elementary School
Patricia Hineman, Ed.D. – Kyrene Traditional Academy

Lifetime Achievement
Deborah Malsom – Kyrene Centennial Middle School
Kristy A. Whigham – Kyrene Monte Vista Elementary School

Rising Star
Ashley LaMonica – Kyrene de la Mirada Elementary School
Rachel Manak – Kyrene Centennial Middle School

Teacher of the Year
Vico Guerrero – Kyrene de la Sierra Elementary School
Josh Jolin – Kyrene Altadeña Middle School
Jasmine Yap – Kyrene del Cielo Elementary School