Skip To Main Content





Points of Pride

NBC Teachers

A+ Schools of Excellence

11 Kyrene Schools have the A+ School of Excellence™ designation.

The Arizona Educational Foundation (AEF) awards the coveted A+ School of Excellence™ award to select public schools each year. AEF has identified and honored exemplary pre-kindergarten through 12th grade public schools in Arizona since 1983.

About A+ Schools of Excellence™

Applicant schools are evaluated in the areas of student focus and support, school culture, active teaching and learning, curriculum, leadership, community and parent involvement and assessment data. Evaluation of schools is based on a lengthy written application submitted by the school and rigorous site visit conducted by a team of trained judges. Preparation of each school’s application involves collaboration among all stakeholders including students, faculty, staff, administrators and community members. 
Recognition through the A+ School of Excellence™ program can help increase confidence in Arizona’s public schools and create greater parent and community involvement. Schools receive $500 and a banner designating it as an A+ School of Excellence™ winner. All staff and faculty at the award-winning schools will be eligible for partial scholarships from Argosy University Phoenix.

The Arizona Educational Foundation is a nonprofit organization that fosters excellence in education by administering statewide programs that enhance the capabilities of Arizona’s schools.


Kyrene A+ Schools of Excellence™ include: 

  • Kyrene Altadeña Middle School, 2020 (2012)
  • Kyrene Aprende Middle School, 2024 (2019, 2015, 2011) 
  • Kyrene de las Brisas Elementary, 2020 (2016, 2012)
  • Kyrene de los Cerritos Elementary, 2023 (2017, 2013)
  • Kyrene del Cielo Elementary, 2023 (2006)
  • Kyrene de la Colina Elementary, 2023 (2018)
  • Kyrene de la Mariposa Elementary, 2024 (2019, 2015, 2009, 2004)
  • Kyrene de la Mirada Elementary, 2020 (2016)
  • Kyrene Monte Vista, 2019 (2006)
  • Kyrene de la Paloma Elementary, 2023 (2018)  
  • Kyrene Traditional Academy, 2024 (2019, 2015)
  • Kyrene de la Sierra Elementary, 2024 (2018)

Past Kyrene A+ Schools of Excellence™ include: 

  • Kyrene Akimel A-al Middle School, 2014
  • Kyrene de la Esperanza Elementary, 2018 (2012, 1999)
  • Kyrene de la Estrella Elementary, 2017
  • Kyrene de los Lagos Elementary, 2017
  • Kyrene de las Manitas Elementary, 2018
  • Kyrene Monte Vista, 2019 (2006)
  • Kyrene del Pueblo Middle School, 2015
  • C.I. Waggoner Elementary, 2019
More information on the A+ School of Excellence Program
Kyrene Points of Pride
Kyrene Choice Opportunities