•  fam pic
    About Mrs. Reisspurple line
     
    I was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and moved to Maryland when I was just a few days old. At age four, my family moved to Arizona, the first of my entire family to move west of the Mississippi! I moved 2 more times before coming back to Arizona to attend ASU. I received my Special Education degree from ASU and my Master degree in Counseling from the University of Phoenix.

    My first teaching job was in the Phoenix Elementary School District in downtown Phoenix. I taught there for 8 years before taking time off to raise my two daughters. Once ready to go back to work, I was hired at Monte Vista where I taught for 13 years and now get to teach middle schoolers at CMS!

    Growing up, I loved school. My favorite subject was science and probably my greatest science project that I remember was making a life-size hot air balloon in 6th grade using big garbage bags! It actually flew! The TV station came out to my school to watch us launch it. It didn’t go very high but it really did fly!!!

    When I was young, I knew that I always wanted to be a teacher because I have a sister who has a learning disability. She couldn’t go to the same school as me because they didn’t have resource classes which made me sad. I would get to go visit her school and I met a lot of nice kids. Schoolwork was hard for her and even though I was the little sister, I still was able to help her. I liked doing that and wanted to help others when I grew up.

    When I’m not teaching (no, I don’t really live at school) I love spending time with my family and friends. I love reading, keeping my tortoise habitat nice and clean, crafts, hiking, and traveling. I have a few pets – 2 tortoises (Nemo and Wilber), 2 dogs - Beau and Penelope and as of the first week of school, a leopard gecko named Nelli.

    Some facts about me:
    - I have 2 daughters.
    - Lindsey is a junior at the University of Arizona.
    -Roey is an EMT and is working towards her hours for PA
      school..
    - I have been married for 25 years!
    - I have lived in Pennsylvania, Maryland, Texas, Arizona and
      Mexico.
    - My favorite kid's book is The Green-Eyed Monster.
    - My all time favorite movie is Mary Poppins
    - I have traveled to the Caribbean, Mexico, all over the United
      States, England, Greece, Costa Rica and Israel.
    -
    I have swam in the Pacific Ocean, Atlantic Ocean,
      Aegean Sea, Dead Sea, Mediterranean Ocean, Caribbean, and
      the Sea of Cortes. Can you find them on a map?

    So, this is me in a nutshell. As you probably figured out from my note, I am happiest when I am around people – that means YOU!

    Remember that you can do whatever you set your mind to. It may not be the easiest thing to do, but if it means a lot to you, go for it!

    Mrs. Karen Reiss, M.C.
    Resource Teacher
    Special Education Lead Teacher for CMS
    Centennial Middle School