15 Kyrene Schools have the A+ School of Excellence™ designation.

    The Arizona Educational Foundation (AEF) announced the names of Arizona public schools receiving the coveted A+ School of Excellence™ award for the 2018-19 academic year on April 8, 2019. AEF has identified and honored exemplary pre-kindergarten through 12th grade public schools in Arizona since 1983.


    The 2019 A+ Schools of Excellence and principals from Kyrene are:

    • C.I. Waggoner Elementary School, Lisa Gibson
    • Kyrene Aprende Middle School, Renee Kory
    • Kyrene de la Mariposa, Spencer Fallgatter
    • Kyrene Monte Vista Elementary School, Suzanne Ramundo
    • Kyrene Traditional Academy, Dr. Marianne Lescher
    Applicant schools are evaluated in the areas of student focus and support, school culture, active teaching and learning, curriculum, leadership, community and parent involvement and assessment data. Evaluation of schools is based on a lengthy written application submitted by the school and rigorous site visit conducted by a team of trained judges. Preparation of each school’s application involves collaboration among all stakeholders including students, faculty, staff, administrators and community members. 
    Recognition through the A+ School of Excellence™ program can help increase confidence in Arizona’s public schools and create greater parent and community involvement. Schools receive $500 and a banner designating it as an A+ School of Excellence™ winner. All staff and faculty at the award-winning schools will be eligible for partial scholarships from Argosy University Phoenix. The award is valid for three and a half years.

    The Arizona Educational Foundation is a nonprofit organization that fosters excellence in education by administering statewide programs that enhance the capabilities of Arizona’s schools.


    A total of 15 Kyrene schools are now A+ Schools of Excellence™ and include: 

    • C.I. Waggoner Elementary, 2019
    • Kyrene Aprende Middle School, 2019 (2015, 2011) 
    • Kyrene de las Brisas Elementary, 2016 (2012)
    • Kyrene de los Cerritos Elementary, 2017 (2013)
    • Kyrene de la Colina Elementary, 2018
    • Kyrene de la Esperanza Elementary, 2018 (2012, 1999)
    • Kyrene de la Estrella Elementary, 2017
    • Kyrene de los Lagos Elementary, 2017
    • Kyrene de las Manitas Elementary, 2018
    • Kyrene de la Mariposa Elementary, 2019 (2015, 2009, 2004)
    • Kyrene de la Mirada Elementary, 2016
    • Kyrene Monte Vista, 2019 (2006)
    • Kyrene de la Paloma Elementary, 2018
    • Kyrene de la Sierra Elementary, 2018
    • Kyrene Traditional Academy, 2019 (2015)

    Past Kyrene A+ Schools of Excellence™ include: 

    • Kyrene del Pueblo Middle School, 2015
    • Kyrene Akimel A-al Middle School, 2014
    • Kyrene Altadeña Middle School, 2012
    • Kyrene del Cielo Elementary, 2006
    More information on the A+ School of Excellence Program
Last Modified on July 24, 2019