• Community/Superintendent Council 

    NOTE:  The Superintendent Councils for 2020-21 have been suspended until January 2021, as the District continues to prioritize its work on providing instruction during the COVID-19 pandemic.  Updates on the work of the Community/Superintendent Council, including new meeting dates, will be shared on this page.



    The Kyrene Community/Superintendent Council is intended to provide resources and feedback to the Kyrene School District in developing and maintaining sustainable plans that align with the District's Strategic Plan 2022 goals as they relate to diversity, equity, inclusion and cultural awareness.



    To provide an inclusive culture with equitable environments and systems at all Kyrene schools so every Kyrene student achieves their full potential.


    Role and Expectations of CSC Representatives 

    • Provide feedback on the District's development of actionable plans to meet students' individual needs and to create stable learning environments.
    • Discuss how to close the achievement, discipline and opportunity gaps while fostering inclusivity and valuing diversity.
    • Bring an open perspective to all discussions and commit to honest and respectful dialogue.
    • Actively seek and share information on best practices to achieve the mission, vision and goals of the CSC.

    Goals (2019-20)

    • Invite 10 additional council members to join the CSC from underrepresented Kyrene communities.
    • Provide continued feedback on equity work/equity RFP
  • 2019-20 Representatives

    Iván Alfaro Lagos, Manitas, Norte
    Pastor Drew Anderson Lagos
    Meg Astudillo Lagos
    Andrea Asturias Mirada
    Rev. Dr. Andy Burnett Milenio, Sierra, Altadeña
    Kristinmae Cardoza Kyrene Traditional Academy
    Erika Castro Norte
    Denise Cavero-Hann Lagos
    Latrisha Centers Norte, Aprende, KMS
    Erin Eccleston Cielo
    Thomas Forsyth Esperanza, Monte Vista, Altadeña
    Jessica Hall Esperanza, Mirada
    Melissa Hartley Brisas
    Shannon Hayes KMS
    Jenniffer Jarvis Colina, Lomas, Centennial
    Denis Lawton Norte
    Silver Lopez Lomas
    Shannon McDonald Mariposa
    Donna McHenry Manitas, Pueblo
    Trine Nelson Colina, Waggoner
    Craig Peck Colina, Centennial
    Carol Pomillo Monte Vista, Altadena
    Dr. Raquel Salas Estrella, Akimel
    Sherri Saenz Brisas Ninos, Norte, Waggoner, Aprende
    Eduarda Schroder Cielo
    Heather Stevens Monte Vista
    Adam Swenson Centennial
    Amanda Tachine Centennial
    Jenny Wright Traditional Academy
Last Modified on August 26, 2020